This is not an official blog of the City. It is the work of Mark Kapel who is solely responsible for content.

Search This Blog

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Jan 19th BHSD Students Recognized for Noteworthy Achievements.

Grand Prize, Chairman's Award 
 Elizabeth Sabol, Lahser High School

Patriot's Pen Essay Contest
Lilyana Wolberg, Mandy Lu, and Jeremy Taiqman

Three Bloomfield Hills Schools eighth graders took the top three local awards out of more than 350 essays submitted to the Patriot’s Pen Essay Contest. Sponsored by the Veterans of Foreign Wars, the essay contest askedmiddle school students to answer the question, “Are you proud of your country?”

Answers, in essay form, submitted by Jeremy Taigman (first place), Many Lu (second place) and Lilyana Wolberg (third place) earned each student a $50 prize and an award ceremony dinner hosted by the VFW Post 2269 in Wixom. These students now advance to the VFW Post 1146 district competition on January 9, 2012.

Patriot’s Pen provides sixth, seventh and eighth grade students the opportunity to express their opinion on a patriotic theme and improve their writing skills while they compete for worthwhile awards and prizes. Awards are given at the local, district, and state levels. The state winners compete for $91,000 in U.S. Savings bonds at the national level. The national winner receives a $10,000 U.S. Savings Bond and an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington D.C. where they tour the city.

Daughters of the American Revolution 
Piety Hill Chapter Essay Contest
Emily Hong
Emily Hong was unable to attend and wiil receive her award at a later date.

West Hills Middle School  Rolling Robots
Recognized as part of the West Hills Rolling Robots, Benjamin Kaufman, Bradley Kaufman, Adrain Ashtari, Jacob Fishkind, Husain Rasheed, Charles Gertner, Tamaer EL-Gamal,Erza Kalmowitz

Bloomfield Hills Middle School 
Mega-Bites Robotic Team
Recognized as part of the BHMS Mega-Bites robotic team, Alp Aydin, Beste Aydin,Sarah Gerendasy, Kathryn Jorgesen,Hannah May, Andrianna McKendrick,Max Perimuter, Zack Piper.


No comments: